TicketWeb Phone Sales : You are currently logged in as | customer lookup | Sign Out
Share Venue Directions

Purchase Tickets

Sales Are Closed - Tickets are NOT Available At The Door!

Additional Information

An evening of world premieres by two of New York's most innovative young ensembles. REDSHIFT and Mivos Quartet team up for a two-set program of electroacoustic music. REDSHIFT unveils Arctic Sounds and Mivos presents new music by Tristan Perich and Samson Young.

REDSHIFT’s most ambitious project yet is Arctic Sounds: a full-length program of electroacoustic music that incorporates field recordings of Alaskan wildlife as captured by field researcher Kathy Turco. Arctic Sounds composers: Jad Abumrad (of WNYC's Radiolab), Ryan Brown (Princeton, NJ), Garrett Byrnes (Washington DC), Richard Carrick (New York, NY), James Holt (New York, NY), Mary Kouyoumdjian (New York, NY), David Lang (New York, NY), Max Stoffregen (Austin, TX), Kirsten Volness (Providence, RI), Matthew Welch (New York, NY), Gordon Williamson (Hannover, Germany). More info & sonic preview at: www.redshiftensemble.com/ArcticSounds.html

MIVOS Quartet will premiere two new works for string quartet and electronics by Tristan Perich and Samson Young. In Tristan Perich's Salt, the acoustic string timbre fuses with 1-bit electronic instruments, sinewy and otherworldly. Salt is one of several of Perich's recent works which refer to inorganic materials. He writes, "Something about those structures is interesting, in a physical/textural/emotional way. Salt I like in particular since it's pretty much the only thing (besides water) that we put into ourselves that doesn't come from other living things." Samson Young's new work for string quartet will combine influences from classical, pop, electronica, and noise music to find a unique path. Both Young's and Perich's work will be performed again by MIVOS on their Asia tour in August 2011. www.mivosquartet.com


Processing your request, please wait....